Phaser 7760 Max Print width problem / margins?

Discussion in 'Xerox Color Laser Printers & Color Copiers' started by clickpostcard, Oct 8, 2011.

1. clickpostcard

clickpostcard Member

Hi,
    I've been running a Phaser 7400 on SRA3 stock for a couple of years. We print an image 305mm wide to give us enough bleed so it will cut on our Morgana CardXtra without leaving white marks.

We've just bought a 7760 to give us a better print quality. BUT I've got big problems with the print width. It'll quite happily feed SRA3 but for ages I couldn't get it to print wider than 297mm. By turning the margins to 'none' (in advanced section of driver) I've managed to get it to print 301mm but this still isn't good enough. I've got an outstanding call with Xerox but I wondered if anyone here had any ideas? Is it a product limitation? If so, I can't find ANY specs on the internet refering to this.

There is a new firmware and driver available (although the driver is 4 years old) which refer to 'SRA3 margin problem' - I've installed the driver (for which there's only a Win2K version, 32bit and I'm on Win7 64 bit!) but the margin settings reported by the driver are the same as before. I'm nervous about installing the newer firmware as 1. the machine is on the Xerox pagepack contract and I'm not sure if i need specific pagepack firmware and 2. if I'm sending the printer back, I don't want them kicking off with me saying 'we can't accept it because it's been modified with new firmware'. I'm also very sceptical that this will resolve my issue.

So, does anyone have any comments please? Is it a product limitation? Or have I missed some fundemental setting somewhere?

TIA

Gavin
    www.clickpostcard.com

2. eddleetham

eddleetham Member