Offset Printing - Understanding Specs

Discussion in 'Heidelberg Printing Presses' started by ajaybc, Sep 7, 2009.

1. ajaybc

ajaybc Member

Hi
    I am new at offset printing and trying to understand some of the specs that you see in Heidelberg presses.
    Can any one please help me understand the same or guide me to a manual or some thing

1. Perfector - what is this used for and is this a must in a press???

2. chromed cylinders - are there different types of cylinders. Are chromed cylinders better and required

3. Auto plate ???

4. CPC 1-04 or 1-02

5.Alcolor Dampening System with cooling and Refrigerant - What is this used for and is it a must

Is there arything else that is a must have in heidelberg press.

Thank you

2. mrheidelberg

mrheidelberg Senior Member

Hi,

In answer to your questions................

1. A perfector allows in 1 pass of the sheet, the machine to print on both sides, not a must but handy if you are say printing sections of a book.

2. Chromed cylinders, that is just the surface of the cylinder and prevents rusting.

3. Autoplate, is the semi automatic function of mounting / removing the plates from the plate cylinder so no tools are required. Heidelberg make the best system for this.

4. 1.02 and 1.04 refers to the level and type of remote ink & register adjustment, 1.04 being the latest type before moving onto the CP2000 touch screen version.

5. Alcohol damping is a must for quality and consistance. Heidelbergs system is called Alcolor and again is the best system for ease of use and consistancy. The fount solution is chilled to a semi consistant temperature which also prevents rapid evaporation of the alcohol, but there are fount solutions these days which replace the alcohol which are much more enviromently friendly.

Hope this helps, :)

Regards.

3. exheidmech

exheidmech Senior Member

I am probably going to be echoing much of what mrheidelberg says, but a few more thinks to be mindful of.