Calibrating a Challenge MC-305 hydraulic cutter.

Discussion in 'Cutters and Trimmers' started by lantz_xvx, Jul 30, 2012.

1. lantz_xvx

lantz_xvx Senior Member

Hi all,

I recently purchased a Challenge MC-305 hydraulic paper cutter, that tacky yellow color they loved so much in the 70's, serial number 6942.

I've never used this sort of cutter before - my old one was a Chandler & Price from 1909 with a huge lever. This new cutter has a weird magnifying glass where you set the measurement for the backstop and there are two lines that (I'm assuming) need to be lined up with the line on the measuring tape in order to make the cut.

Does anyone know if that tape measure can be calibrated? It seems to not be cutting very accurately. It could also be that the blade is not very sharp - does anyone know how to change and calibrate the blade correctly?

And finally, if anyone knows of a knife sharpener (or anything print industry related) in the New York City area, please let me know. I just relocated from the west coast and was spoiled to have everything I needed in the neighborhood. Everything here seems to be mail order, unfortunately.

- Lantz

2. lantz_xvx

lantz_xvx Senior Member

Come on, y'all. 52 views over a week with no response. This thing doesn't cut straight, but I know it can. The manual I found says nothing about calibrating the backstop or using that silly measure tape. Anyone have any idea?

3. seagull

seagull Member

where the ruler connects to the post there is a adjustment. The ruler is slotted. So move the backgauge to a exact cut then adjust the ruler to match.

4. lantz_xvx

lantz_xvx Senior Member

Thanks, seagull. I did eventually figure that out and it helped. It's just weird using that magnifying glass. Kind of a bad design, but I guess you can't ask for much from a cutter made in the 70s.

5. lantz_xvx

lantz_xvx Senior Member