BIOS password CP2000

Discussion in 'Heidelberg Printing Presses' started by SM74NL, Oct 28, 2016.

Tags:
  1. SM74NL

    SM74NL Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    NL
    Hello members,

    In the cp2000 computer inside the controldesk from a SM74 did we have a HD failure. When i try to replace the HD the system hang by the boot from the HD, the BIOS didn't recognize the HD. When i try to enter the BIOS i have to enter a password. My CP2000 version is 7.1, typ P6 and the BIOS is V02.01. Is there some one who knows the BIOS password?

    Regards,
    Marcel
     
  2. NotAGooner

    NotAGooner Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2007
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    UK
    Don't know if this will work but you could try removing the CMOS battery on the motherboard, for a few seconds, then put it back again??
     
  3. SM74NL

    SM74NL Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    NL
    Thanks for the fast reply.
    I can't locate a battery on the motherboard, there is not a regular battery present just like a "normal" pc.
     
  4. Mathew

    Mathew Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    Tehran-Iran
    Are the new HDD's from Heidelberg or you've got them from local market?
     
  5. Paul Cavanaugh

    Paul Cavanaugh Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2009
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    Kennesaw, GA
    Heidelberg technicians do not have the passwords for the BIOS nor do they have access to them. Very rarely do the electricians have to work within the PC itself, hence there is no reason to change the BIOS settings.

    Disconnecting the battery will reset the bios to default settings.

    The Motherboards have different types of batteries depending on the years the boards were made. If you can post a picture of yours we could tell you where the battery is located.
     
  6. SM74NL

    SM74NL Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    NL
    The HD's are not from Heidelberg, local market.
     
  7. Mathew

    Mathew Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    Tehran-Iran
    In addition to Paul, IPC's from Heidelberg has been produced by a German company called ROI. This company is very famous for producing industrial comuters. Same as other Heidelberg parts these IPC's are customer protected and ROI is not allowed on pass any information to third parties. For this reasons you cannot use HDD'S from local market. Beside that, original HDD'S from Heidelberg contains preset data which called "Hard signature" without them mother board is not able to recognize HDD'S. Don't waste your time and order them from Heidelberg agent.

    Good luck,
     
  8. SM74NL

    SM74NL Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    NL
    OK, I understand. Thanks for the support.
     
  9. Rani

    Rani Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Canada
    Are both drives defective? There are many disk utility software which you can download to check the health of the hard disk offline. This way you are not guessing if your drive is defective or just the software being corrupt.
     
  10. SM74NL

    SM74NL Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    NL
    No, one drive is defective, don't spin, the HD is made in 2000 and we started to use this machine in 2002, it's spin for 14 years, well made but now end of life. We use now the backup HD, but I don't want to operate with one HD. I tried to clone the good HD to another HD but the BIOS don't recognize the new HD (other brand and type) so I want to change the BIOS setup but it is blocked. Mathew explained that ther is a "Hard signature" on the original HD, thats why we need original HD's.
     
  11. narayan

    narayan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    Nepal
    cmos battery is at left side of cpu, hidden by cover. you need to take out cpu and unscrew 1 screw and pull out battery. battery is normal computer battery.
     
  12. vastanali

    vastanali Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    turkey
    Hi narayan,
    I want to back up HDs of a Cp2000 and Sm 74.
    Do you know how to back-up computers of a Cp 2000 and a Sm 74 machine step by step ?.
    Best regards..
     
  13. Abhi

    Abhi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2017
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    Nepal
    The battery removal trick works almost with all CPU to erase the BIOS password. After removing the battery, wait for about 30 seconds while keeping the main power off throughout this time.This will erase the password from the bios.
    Caution- This will reset the BIOS settings also.
     
  14. vastanali

    vastanali Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    turkey
    Dear Abhi,
    Thanks for your answer. Almost after erasing the BIOS password how can i back up the hds(via which connector and with parts)? And before the erasing the BIOS,Do I need to save(taking photos) the setting parameters of Bios?
    Best regards.
     
  15. Abhi

    Abhi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2017
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    Nepal
    I won't recommend messing with the BIOS unless it's the last resort. Best way is to use the Heidelberg approved HD and getting it up by a Heidelberg tech.
     
  16. ashok kumar

    ashok kumar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    india
    pls give the IPC Detail i can send you the disk which IPC can detect and
    if you give me teh software version than we can send the hdd with software .
     

  17. Waqas_zahid

    Waqas_zahid Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2011
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Pakistan
    even if you remove the bios password the market HDD wont work considering the fact that they are blank and do not have windows let alone the CP2000 software on it
     

Share This Page