yellow ink problem

Discussion in 'DI Presses' started by mutti8000, Mar 27, 2010.

1. mutti8000

mutti8000 Member

Hi fellow DI'ers

Just purchased a QMDI last fall, so im relatively new to waterless printing
    I am using Toyo ink on recomendation of the previous owner.
    The problem is that the yellow seems very light and transparent.. i have to crank the yellow fountain roller and the ink keys way up just to get just a decent reading on my densitometer.
    Furthermore the ink is very "hard" and gum like (like when there is added to much anti tone)

The other day i tried some Hostmann-Steinberg ink at first i looked great and i got a really nice and deep yellow, but after 200 prints i started toning like mad...

The temp is set to 22 degrees celcius and i am using Heidelberg blankets and Heidelberg Caleidoplate. All rollers are adjusted spot on by the book.

Any suggestions?

Cheers /MC

2. mrheidelberg

mrheidelberg Senior Member

Have you adjusted your M (1 to 9) function in service, to automatically increase the yellow ink level from the rip settings.

Which range of Toyo are you using.....MZ or LZ ?

Regards.

3. steveo

steveo Senior Member

yeah maybe the low tack yellow would work better , you can swop out just the yellow , I don't know the DI press' but I used to work for Toyo and sold a boatload of that ink in NYC , never had any complaints and the Toyo is usually made with a higher pigment load...well anyway like mr.H ^ said try maybe switching tack...
    also Toyo has tech people FYI
    good luck...
    Steve

4. mutti8000

mutti8000 Member

I have tried both the EMZ and MZ. Haven't played with the ink curves yet.

5. steveo

steveo Senior Member

almost sounds like the rollers are too cold , like your not getting a good flow? but like I said I dont know the DI press' , just a thought....
    also I think I recall one of my customers reducing the yellow , I dunno it was a while back sooooo...god luck

Steve

6. 2ampress

2ampress Senior Member