What is the difference between pantone solid and not solid?

Discussion in 'Print Community General Printing Discussion' started by Laurent Alebarde, Apr 3, 2022.

Tags:
  1. Laurent Alebarde

Laurent Alebarde New Member

Hi, I am a beginner. I am looking at Pantone color charts. I understand the need to have a different one for different materials : coated, uncoated, textils, but I could not find explanations for solid:
    • Solid Coated & Solid Uncoated
    • Color Bridge Set Coated + Uncoated
    • Textile - Fashion, Home + Interiors FHI Color Guide
    So what 'Solids' means here? Does 'Solid' mean printing on some material? As opposite to on screen?
    Then why are there distinct Solid charts and bridge charts ?

Besides, my understanding of the right process is:
    1. Choose the material on which to print
    2. Select the right color chart for this material
    3. Choose the design colors in this chart
    4. Use the bridge chart for this material to get RGB computer colors or alternatively load the right pantone palette in the CAD software
    5. Actualy design
    6. Provide all color layers of the design to the printer, either CMYB or pantone
    Is it correct?

2. mantman

mantman Senior Member

Solid means no tints on paper substrate
    Color bridge is used for conversion from solid to CMYK tints in paper again
    Cant help with textile

3. Laurent Alebarde

Could you elaborate please, possibly with a drawing?

4. mantman

mantman Senior Member

Err i dont think there is something to draw.
    Solid=100%
    Tint=99% till 1%
    color bridge example Reflex blue solid to CMYK= 100% cyan/90% magenta/0% yellow/5% black -not exactly the recipe per se for reflex blue in cmyk-
    and there is solid print in pantone and print with cmyk to compare your result. Usually it is used when you want to avoid a spot color in a 5 or more color job to 4 color cmyk

5. Laurent Alebarde