strange magenta strip

Discussion in 'DI Presses' started by shaneo1967, Aug 30, 2011.

1. shaneo1967

shaneo1967 Member

Hi People,

i have a ink strip in the middle of the of my magenta. it appears random and drops a strip of ink on the plate . after about 20 sheets gone.

has any one had this happen to them before.

cheers

shane

:confused:

2. Hawker

Hawker Member

Hi Shane , hard to say without looking at it. Where a bouts in aus are you?

3. Paul Cavanaugh

Paul Cavanaugh Senior Member

When you say you have a strip, do you mean a toning line?

First I must admit I am not an expert in ink development, that beng said I did speak with someone who was.

We were noticing that the magenta unit tended to tone before the other units it the temperature of the room started to go over 76 degrees. Turning the cooler down on the machine did nothing to fix it except cause condensation problems in the Laser Drive Modules.

Since the other colors did not seem to be affected we figured it had something to do with the ink. This is when I spoke with an expert in the manufacture of ink and was told that magenta needed more pigment than the other colors and this took away from the amount of body the ink could carry. If you add more of something you have to take something away to get it to fit in a 5 lb ink can.

The bottom line was, we had to keep the room temperature below 74 in order to make the problem go away. This is why the technical specifications of the machine concerning environmental conditions state the room should be not get over 74 F / 23 C.

4. shaneo1967

shaneo1967 Member

Hi Paul,

The room temp is around the 25 degrees as it has been always. the techno trans temp is 22. the strip is lenght ways and not a tonning problem which i have had before which travels across the page.

cheers

5. shaneo1967

shaneo1967 Member

hawker,

north qld,

6. Paul Cavanaugh

I am curious myself to know what is causing it. Maybe you can post a photo of it next time you see it.