Speedmaster SM52-2 error S-MOT FFDF

Discussion in 'Heidelberg Printing Presses' started by zloy, May 22, 2013.

  1. zloy

    zloy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Belarus
    Hi to all! Maybe someone can help decode an error (S-MOT: FFDF) on Dyn code page of Speedmaster SM52-2 (year2006). It is impossible to run or inch the press.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. junker1984

    junker1984 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2010
    Messages:
    794
    Location:
    US, Midwest
    Code translates to"REK 1 recognizes via encoder IDS that press is blocked". Good luck with that one :)
     
  3. zloy

    zloy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Belarus
    Thank you for answer! Press rotates easy by hand. I think encoder of main drive is issue. What do you think about it?
     
  4. junker1984

    junker1984 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2010
    Messages:
    794
    Location:
    US, Midwest
    Yes, by "blocked", it normally means electronically. Since REK and communication from encoder
    is mentioned, I'd look at those. Inspect condition of encoder cable, unplug REK and plug back in to reestablish connection of pins, look at encoder to see if it may be oil laden...hopefully it's something simple! Good luck
     
  5. Mathew

    Mathew Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Kolding-Denmark
    Hi,
    It's a compact machine and there is no REK board. Instead, there is ZSK2. One part of this board, is controling the main motor. What you had sent from INIT test, means ZSK2 has got a problem. Don't loose your time and call Heidelberg service.
     
  6. zloy

    zloy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Belarus
    Why do you think ZSK2 has a problem? S-ZSKA_CTR: 0000 appears every time after loading (even when the press run normal). Today press worked normal for a few hours.
     
  7. junker1984

    junker1984 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2010
    Messages:
    794
    Location:
    US, Midwest
    Oops, good call Matthew! Didn't mean to be misleading, just reading back what the fault code said in my book. Gotta take what I say with a grain of salt :)
     
  8. Mathew

    Mathew Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Kolding-Denmark
    Ok, if you have ZSK error for a long time, it could be an internal error. What was the last operation before the problem appears? Were you inching for cleaning or it was in crawl speed mode? I had an experience of defective BLT/TTK after inching.
    In a worst case, BLT/TTK needs some repairings.
     
  9. zloy

    zloy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Belarus
    It was inching after roller cleaning before appearing the problem first time. After one day of tryinig to fix a problem the error was gone. The press was in normal condition for one shift. The problem is not constant. We checked connection between motor tacho and TTK. It is ok. I'm sure the problem somewere in main motor (tacho-encoder) or in TTK. Changing tacho at first is the cheapest decision but i'm not sure is right ((( Which component was faulty on TTK you have repaired?
     
  10. Mathew

    Mathew Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Kolding-Denmark
    It is coming more difficult. On TTK board, you will find a big relay which switching the brake ON/OFF. It has a transparent cover so you can easily see inside. Check if there are burning effects. Usually it becomes black or dark inside.
    In case of faulty main motor encoder, usually the press starts running but the speed of motor is not permanent and due to that, it will stop after one or two rotation.
    Regarding the repairing of TTK, I don't believe that is defective. But i did several repairings by changing the power transistors.
    Check the points and come back to me. I hope you could find the problem.
     
  11. zloy

    zloy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Belarus
    Relay was opened, contacts were cleaned for insurance... We tried to disconect the motor from machine and run it. When the press is faulty the motor twitches, there is a small unstable rotation. When the press is not faulty motor makes 2-3 normal full rotations and then stop. We will try to change motor encoder (we have to wait for delivery).
     
  12. Frank Taylor

    Frank Taylor Member

    Joined:
    May 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Replace the encoder as this is 90% the normal cause/reason
    If you are lucky you can clean out the encoder hall sensors, as i have done this many times
    and helps short term also proves if you have an encoder issues or not.
    Best Regards
    Frank (Worked for Heidelberg for 25 years, now work for myself fixing Heidelberg Press)
     
  13. Mathew

    Mathew Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Kolding-Denmark
    Any updates about the problem?
     
  14. zloy

    zloy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Belarus
    Encoder will be in few days. I will wrote after replacement.
     
  15. Frank Taylor

    Frank Taylor Member

    Joined:
    May 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Also make sure the main motor belt is in good condition and has no oil or grease which could slip and flag the same error codes. :)
    Give the main motor belt a good check over and clean. :) If unsure replace the belt and make sure you tension the belt correctly.
     
  16. zloy

    zloy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Belarus
    Thank you. The belt was cheked and cleaned first of all. Tension also is good.
     
  17. zloy

    zloy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Belarus
    Encoder was replaced, but the problrm is not eliminated. Any ideas?
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2013
  18. Frank Taylor

    Frank Taylor Member

    Joined:
    May 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    The type of fault you are asking help with. You have the Belt as first option to check, then the encoder, then the encoder cable, then you are looking at Main motor pcb and main motor. All you can add is make sure all the basic tests are checked and you are 100% before considering motor or pcb for the motor. Check pin connections on the plugs main motor plug and encoder plug. Ask someone to test the encoder cable next ! Pull the cable out and have a good look for damage and test the cable.. :)
     
  19. Mathew

    Mathew Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Kolding-Denmark
    Hi Zloy,
    As I told you, I was pretty sure that the encoder works properly. I still believe in ZSK2 malfunction due to INIT test "ZSK2" error. You need to make reset on ZSK2. Do you have somebody to do it? Sometimes it is necessary to do.
    Does the error appears after a long time running or short running?
    I will be waiting.
     

  20. Mathew

    Mathew Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Kolding-Denmark
    Ooops, I realized make a reset on this machine is not possible. You will miss the licenses.
     
Loading...