Sm74 CP2000 screen permanenly displays Heidelberg on power up

Discussion in 'Heidelberg Printing Presses' started by wunmi-50, Nov 29, 2020.

  1. wunmi-50

    wunmi-50 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2013
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Lagos,Nigeria,Africa.
    The problem is I have Heidelberg display stucked on the sm74, cp2000 screen and the system does not load beyond that. The machine can however run but without the cp2000 cannot produce.Will be pleased and grateful to draw from your wealth of experience so as to know the possible causes and likely remedy.
    Eagerly looking forward to your reply.
    Wunmi-50).
     
  2. Waqas_zahid

    Waqas_zahid Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2011
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Hi wunmi-50
    What is the software version of the press? If the machine can run then there is probably no communication between the rek2 and the IPC, do you see any communication LEDs on the IPC ethernet port? What kind of IPC do you have? Can you try by changing the hard disk over to the second one?
     
  3. wunmi-50

    wunmi-50 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2013
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Lagos,Nigeria,Africa.
    Hi Waqas, nice hearing from you and thanks for your response. The Rek2 uses Rgp5 while the IPC is MC 7, running on Windows XP. Machine made in year 2000. I can see the amber communication led on the IPC Ethernet port blinking, so definitely communicating. The transmitter led on the Rgp5 is equally blinking, but the receiver led is off, seemingly no feedback response from the IPC. This is as much as I have observed for now.
    Please in which direction should i troubleshoot to narrow down the problem.
    Regards,
    Wunmi-50.
     
  4. wunmi-50

    wunmi-50 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2013
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Lagos,Nigeria,Africa.
    Hi Waqas, thanks for your positive insight. The problem has now been solved after switching the hard disk from the Master to the Slave. Machine is now back on production.
    So what can be done to the defective hard disk? Any possibility of repairs, reconditioning or replacement.
    Once again, I appreciate your timely help.
    Wunmi-50.
     
  5. Waqas_zahid

    Waqas_zahid Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2011
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Hello Wunmi-50,

    Glad to know the problem is resolved, it depends, the hard disc can be taken out of the IPC and checked by connecting to a usb adapter with any windows PC, try using a program that checks for hard disc health, if the hard disc is healthy then maybe it is worth trying to reinstall the cp2000 software again, but it is just better to replace the disc in my opinion.
     
  6. Mathew

    Mathew Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Kolding-Denmark
    Hi Waqas,
    It's not a good idea. Connecting HDD to a PC and run diagnosing program may delete some of WIN files. I did it once with MC7 HDDs and took two days to recover it As you mentioned, I also recommend to re-install CP2000 application first. If wouldn't help then he has to replace HDD. Heidelberg has some safety features on new IPC's HDDs and they make hard disk cloning difficult.
     
  7. Waqas_zahid

    Waqas_zahid Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2011
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Hi Mathew,

    Thanks for sharing your experience, I didn't know that could happen. A program that just checks for the SMART parameters is what I meant, but to be honest if the discs have been in operation for a long time then it is just better to replace in my opinion. I haven't ever tried cloning a disc though.
     
  8. Maher Sayed

    Maher Sayed Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2017
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Egypt
    Hello all,
    You can try making software update, if not working you can use data and version remove tool, it is very helpful in your case.
    Don't forget to check the installed software version and ensure that you have the cd's.
    Another thing, you should bring the switch back to position (HDD1+2) before start software update
     
    asem alsafady likes this.

  9. wunmi-50

    wunmi-50 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2013
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Lagos,Nigeria,Africa.
    Thank you all for your highly informative contributions to this post. As I posted earlier, the IPC carries MC 7 HDDs. Now for a press manufactured in year 2000, this obviously had been replaced and was done some 5years ago based on information at my disposal. Whether these lasted enough for one HDD to be defective now is another issue.
    We will surely put the vast technical information provided in this forum to use in addressing the way forward. Regerds.
    Wunmi-50.
     
Loading...