Ryobi 3030 color registration

Discussion in 'Ryobi Printing Presses' started by dixiemex, Dec 17, 2007.

1. dixiemex

dixiemex New Member

I am needing help in amking color registration on 4 color jobs on a 2 color press, can any one give me some insight on this subject. I am use to printing on a web press and now I working on this type press baffled here, any help is greatly appreciated.

2. discountprintingservice

discountprintingservice Senior Member

Helpful tips

As a press operator I have run everything from a Multi 1250 & ABDick 360 to a Heidelburg 19x25 including process color. I have run critical register jobs on presses with register boards as well as duplicators. Presses with register boards are by far better with pull guides being the choice of register devices, however push guides will do a good job when set up properly. Registering on a direct feed duplicator can be more of a chore, but if you carefully cut your paper perfectly square and have everything set to manufacturer specifications (cylinder pressures, feed rollers parrallel - press must be perfectly level also) you can acheive good results. Paper guides that are too tight will bow the sheet causing miss registration, too loose sheets moves to much. For direct feed presses I start with square stock, align my registering side guide squarely to the paper, then the back guide with tension but very lightly (object is to hold paper against front stop without bowing sheet) and then the opposite side spring guide. I like to run my spring vertical against the paper pile but only works with really square cut paper. Just remember there has to be enought paper in the stack to allow this, once stack gets to low it will bow up. Always test a small quantity by running it through the press twice & you can see if it is off & how much. One mistake I see operators make is forcing the sheet in with too much feed roller pressure or "buckle" or not enough. There is a fine line here as it needs just enough to squar