Question regarding offset printing

Discussion in '4-Color Offset Presses +' started by ks69, May 25, 2012.

1. ks69

ks69 New Member

Hello,
    Im a beginner in offset printing and looking for some help.

I have been printing business almost 5 years now. We started as a printing agency. Today we have digital printing equipment. But still most of the turnover comes from offset print jobs that we order from varios print mills and sell to clients.

My question is that how do i calculate print cost with offset printing machine? I ask it because i would like to do little calculation that could we earn some extra if we buy our own machinery?
    All i know is the price of paper. But what about print plates (if you call them this way in english), paint, maintenance cost of machine etc.

best regards
    Kaupo

2. OkiTech

OkiTech Senior Member

Hi. Yes we call them print plates, but we call ink - ink, not paint, as it is "Chernila, ne kraska" in you understand Russian :)
    to my best understanding, here how it works:
    1) You have cost of the plates made and installed on the press and aligned with ink keys set and press ready to run - this called makeready.
    2) Than cost of the press run, usually per 1000 impressions
    3) Than cost of media / paper.
    I worked with printer who had a 14x20 RYOBI 5 color with Aqueous coater, he charged me a $120 for makeready, $80 per 1000 sheets for 80# paper or $120 for 12pt cover.
    The makeready cost consist of plates (about $2-4 per per plate), time, materials, platemaking equipment usage/depreciation cost, cost of the time spent preparing the press to run the job+profit.
    Run cost included cost of paper+cost of using press+cost of the pressman's time+profit. It could wary if you running 1-2-4 or more color press, if some specialty stock needs to be run slow - it will more expensive, if in-line coater is used - AQ or UV - it may affect the price of running.