Question about process color job printing?

Discussion in '4-Color Offset Presses +' started by kaitejameson, Oct 14, 2010.

1. kaitejameson

kaitejameson New Member

I'm planning on printing a process color job with a spot PMS color, spot varnish, a bump plate and metallic ink. How many units would a printer need to run this job?

2. kaitejameson

kaitejameson New Member

So from what I understand, it would be 8 units.

C M Y K spot varnish bump metallic. Is this correct?

3. Paul Cavanaugh

Paul Cavanaugh Senior Member

That would be correct, unless you want to coat it also. Then you will need a coating unit of course.

4. vgbala11

vgbala11 Member

what does bump metallic mean??
    i am new to this printing field...tats y im asking these questions..??

5. turbotom1052

turbotom1052 Senior Member

not fully understanding??? are you looking to do a bump on the 4/c process with a metallic ink? off the top of my head im thinkin that a bump on the 4/c process with any metallic ink will make for a very muddy looking appearance as the opacity of the metallic will obscure the 4/c image. If you lay the metallic first the 4/c will have a really hard time trapping over the metallic. if you lay the metallic over the 4/c the opacity will not allow the 4/c to show through very much. im thinkin your best chance for success if this must be done would be to print the metallic offline first, then after its dry youd need to come back for a second pass to overprint the 4/c. of course that makes it really risky as you will not know what the final piece will look like until its too late to turn back. Id suggest a press proof!!!

6. Data

Data Senior Member

Is this term 'Bump' merely a colour under another to obtain a better opacity? If so it depends on what colour you wish to 'Bump'

You could get away with a Uv 6 colour and coater option.

7. steveo

steveo Senior Member