QMDI-46 Classic won't engage impression

Discussion in 'DI Presses' started by prontoprint, May 2, 2017.

  1. prontoprint

    prontoprint Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Medford, Oregon
    Hey everyone, got a question about our QMDI Classic (15 mil. imp.). We've encountered many of the usual issues over the years and are very familiar with the quirks of the press, but now we have a new problem.

    The press will idle and feed sheets without impression, but as soon as impression is turned on, the press feeds three sheets before turning impression back off and then slowing to its usual stop.

    The press is not reporting any paper feed error indicator lights, and doesn't record any unusual or helpful diagnostic codes. The pile height and angle are within tolerance, and the sheet length system is reporting the correct length.

    There are no dropped sheets underneath and all electric eyes are clean. SF 18 and 19 (sheet travel monitors) are turned off. We do not use the double-sheet detector. We have reseated the X7 plugs in the cabinet (a continuing problem). When we have the X7 plug problem, the press exhibits similar behavior as it is now, but one of the compressors will come on and stay on, and it's not doing that now, so I am inclined to rule that out. We've also checked all the feed mechanisms and troubleshooted the switches and sensors in that area and they seem to be working as expected.

    The temperature of the chiller is where it should be (~20-degrees C). The air pressure seems to be correct and the compressor doesn't run more than usual. We do not use the automated wash-up or plate vacuum systems. The press was running fine yesterday before this started happening.

    I think it is a problem in the electrical cabinet or the electric eye under the press. What do you think? Any ideas are appreciated!!

    -Noah and Steve at Pronto Print in Medford, Oregon, USA
     
  2. CHOCK

    CHOCK Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2016
    Messages:
    1,614
    Location:
    Managua,Nicaragua
    Hi sir
    Good evening
    Please use the Key Function Special S-56 for troubleshooting
    However test with a good DMM, the SLM Power Module for +28Vdc for
    FOR 11M3 Pile Motor Feeder +12M2 Pile Motor delivery of course before
    test the GRM24 INPUT FOR 20VAC use the schematic diagram.
    Please see carefully, any loose wires, connector, break wires, pin broken or bent, oil, or grease
    and Clean and Repair.
    Let me know any question or doubt
    Regards
    superchock@yandex.com
     
  3. prontoprint

    prontoprint Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Medford, Oregon
    thank you but I cannot test for electrical. I purchased light barrier and after install nothing, I only purchased upper light.

    Thank You
    Steve
     
  4. CHOCK

    CHOCK Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2016
    Messages:
    1,614
    Location:
    Managua,Nicaragua
    ok, sir
    Why did not make the electrical test?
    What happen with light barrier( what do you mean light barrier)
    Light barrier for me is special Diod LED UV .
    Sorry, but maybe you waste your time and money.
    Is very easy steps, that i would guide you.
    Send me email, if you need more support
    Regards
    superchock@yandex.com
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2017
  5. Paul Cavanaugh

    Paul Cavanaugh Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2009
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    Kennesaw, GA
    Do you notice after the press stops feeding sheets that the air compressor is running? It is possible you have an air leak on one of the short stroke cylinders.
     
  6. CHOCK

    CHOCK Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2016
    Messages:
    1,614
    Location:
    Managua,Nicaragua
    Dear Sir
    Not really, remember the control for compressor is Module SLM ,
    that i did suggest that test before, You did not .
    Please do it, since any winding or component in SLM , can be short, or GRM24, give the Phenomenon Transistory.
    Called en electrical engineering, use your schematic and wiring diagrams
    Please see carefully, any loose wires, connector, break wires, pin broken or bent, oil, or grease
    and Clean and Repair
    back to me,any doubt
    Regards
    superchock@yandex.com
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2017
  7. Paul Cavanaugh

    Paul Cavanaugh Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2009
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    Kennesaw, GA
    Chock,
    The SLM's sole purpose is to control the pile motors in the delivery and the feeder, hence one board for each motor, they do not control the compressors, that is done by the 15t1 transformer and they are signaled to come on by the ZTK board. They are both controlled by the ZTK board which interprets the sensor signals in the delivery and feeder. There are two GRM24s, one converts AC to DC for the TTK board which operates the Main Drive motor. The other one converts AC 20V to DC 28V for the SLM boards. Rarely does this board fail, although it is possible with the age of the machine. If it does fail neither the delivery pile nor the feeder pile will work.

    My guess is there is an air leak causing the compressor to drop below 6 bars shutting the press down. If the press can run paper without shutting down while it is not on impression and air leak is suspect. It is also possible the sheet detector eye is not aligned properly or has a hairline crack in it causing the press to trip off.
     
    ahmedmaher74 likes this.
  8. CHOCK

    CHOCK Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2016
    Messages:
    1,614
    Location:
    Managua,Nicaragua
    Hi my apologize
    I do not had e Internet in my country by about 6 hours ago.
    O.k
    Please proceed with the adjustment Cam and sensor 11B2 pile raising AT Feeder,
    The sensor must be alingment with the pivot
    You can send me email, for to send you the adjustment sensor
    Regards
    superchock@yandex.com
     
  9. prontoprint

    prontoprint Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Medford, Oregon
    Paul, thank you for your attention to our problem. I am no longer the operator, but am working with Steve, the current operator, to figure this out. I know he isolated each of the four units via the control panel and the press exhibited the same behavior on each of them. Is it still possible that one of the cylinders is leaking if each unit results in the same problem?

    -Noah
     
  10. CHOCK

    CHOCK Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2016
    Messages:
    1,614
    Location:
    Managua,Nicaragua
    Dear Sir:
    Hi hope you are well
    I was waiting his email
    However you must test 1) Pressure switch compressor on/off S26, FOR Faulty, USE the DMM
    2)Test Y16+y18 for Feeder Enabling Air of Suction Air +Feeder lift Release Pneumatic Valves, for Faulty, can be Leaky or Faulty, Repair or Replace 3) Pressure Switch (Fault Message) F45
    use your DMM and Schematic D. 4) Control Voltage distribution board 3,( the board can be faulty,Repair or Replace for Feed to Pneumatic Valves (Voltages)
    Back to my any question or Doubt for guide in Troubleshooting.
    Regards
    superchock@yandex.com
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: May 5, 2017
  11. Paul Cavanaugh

    Paul Cavanaugh Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2009
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    Kennesaw, GA
    Noah,

    When the press shuts down do you notice the compressor is running? This is a clear indication there is an airleak. Also, Does it do this on every job? Or just one specific job you are running?

    You can e-mail me directly at paul.cavanaugh@heidelberg.com
     
    ahmedmaher74 likes this.

  12. CHOCK

    CHOCK Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2016
    Messages:
    1,614
    Location:
    Managua,Nicaragua
    Good day sir
    Did you do the test that i did recommend you?
    Here again:
    However you must test 1) Pressure switch compressor on/off S26, FOR Faulty, USE the DMM
    2)Test Y16+y18 for Feeder Enabling Air of Suction Air +Feeder lift Release Pneumatic Valves, for Faulty, can be Leaky or Faulty, Repair or Replace 3) Pressure Switch (Fault Message) F45
    use your DMM and Schematic D. 4) Control Voltage distribution board 3,( the board can be faulty,Repair or Replace for Feed to Pneumatic Valves (Voltages)
    Back to me any doubt or question
    Regards
    superchock@yandex.com
     
    ahmedmaher74 likes this.
Loading...