Power supply question

Discussion in 'Xerox iGen3, iGen4, & iGen5 Digital Presses' started by CRocket, Feb 6, 2014.

Tags:
  1. CRocket

    CRocket Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    VA
    This would be for the techs perusing the forum. We had an instance where the machine would begin its cycle up and immediately shut down with along list of error codes. Baffled us for a while! Long story short ended up being a power supply. We had one on hand and replaced it. This worked short term. The symptoms began again. The power supply checked out ok. They would come up and then the OV light on the one in the far left slot would come on and machine would shut down. Finally we ended up moving the power supply from the far left slot to the far right slot and we are up and running. Question is, what may be the issue in the far left slot that would possibly give this condition? Any help would be appreciated. Igen 3 110
     
  2. Milo Wilson

    Milo Wilson Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2007
    Messages:
    447
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Only need 2 power supplies to run. One is used for backup in case one drops offline. I would say that the one you replaced might have been flaky too.
     
  3. CRocket

    CRocket Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    VA
    Hey Milo,
    Hows it going?
    The replacement power supply was just moved from the origonal postition to the empty slot and is now working just fine. Might there be some reason the initial position would be causing the power supply to go into "damage control mode"? OV light comes on shortly almost immediately after the press starts to run a job. While sitting idle it continues to keep the press powered on, just cannot run a job.
     
  4. MarkD

    MarkD Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2012
    Messages:
    344
    Location:
    UK
    Nope needs two good ACDC convertors to run. It will not run reliably with only one working. They used to come with 3 as standard then cost cutting came along. All of my machines that I look after had a failure shortly after install with 2 installed. Installed a third and none have have failures since. Igen4's are more prone to failure with 2 installed due to the extra units installed (CPUC, ILS etc)

    --
    Mark
     
  5. CRocket

    CRocket Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    VA
    Ours too came with three installed. Shortly after install there was a problem with the power converters(this is why we had one on hand). Xerox let the techs know only two were required for operation. We have two good power supplies. With the two installed on the original locations the one in the left bay kicks out. When installed as we have now, the machine runs just fine. The location in which we placed the supply is the only difference.
     

  6. Milo Wilson

    Milo Wilson Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2007
    Messages:
    447
    Location:
    Arkansas
    That's what I said , it needs only 2 to run. The one they used as a replacement may be flaky also.
     
Loading...