Poor ink transfer on textured paper

Discussion in 'HP Indigo Digital Presses' started by birdbybird, May 31, 2017.

1. birdbybird

birdbybird New Member

Hi, first, I'm a designer looking for help troubleshooting issues with digital printing.

I purchased a bunch of paper samples from Mohawk and Neenah - smooth, eggshell and cotton papers. The printer I'm working with uses an HP Indigo digital press. All the smooth paper samples look great but anything with the slightest texture gets a spotty, mottled kind of look. The printer said it's just the nature of using textured papers on a digital press but that logic didn't add up to me. I called Mohawk and they said this shouldn't be happening but couldn't really give solid advice without seeing my samples and knowing the printer settings. The thing is, this has happened with other printers too and they all tend to say the same thing. But why would companies like Mohawk and Neenah make these beautiful textured papers FOR digital press if they didn't work on digital press.

You can see the samples in the attached two images, one on smooth surface and the other on eggshell to see what I'm talking about.

Does anyone have any insight? I want to troubleshoot this with the printer without offending them.

Attached Files:

2. birdbybird

birdbybird New Member

bump. anyone?

3. FFR428

FFR428 Senior Member

What is the weight of the samples? 80# 100#, cover or text etc...? Most cases a new substrate profile should be made for each.