Paper handling error on Bizhub c6500

Discussion in 'Konica Minolta Color Laser Printers & Color Copie' started by Sam Stricklin, Dec 19, 2012.

  1. Sam Stricklin

    Sam Stricklin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Nashville, Tennessee
    I am brand new to using this printer. My problem is when I print and InDesign file I get a message that says "Load 8.5x11 color specific 81-105 gsm paper in any valid tray." I have tried loading paper in all the trays and still can't get past this error.

    Thanks!
     
  2. MrFooledYa

    MrFooledYa New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, US
    I know this sounds obvious but just checking, did you change the setting on whatever tray you're using? Tell it to use the correct size paper and weight, if you're using tray 4 for instance it may be the wrong weight or size setting. As I'm not sure what you use for ripping i can't tell you how to change the setting in your rip but when you rerip the document just make sure to check in the settings there that the weight and paper size are correct for whatever tray you're sending the doc to. If you did all this already then i apologize for wasting your time.
     
  3. Sam Stricklin

    Sam Stricklin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Nashville, Tennessee
    Thank you. I am checking those settings and I am using a Fiery Command Workstation RIP.
     
  4. Keisha W

    Keisha W New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    macon, Georgia
    Hey Sam Did you resolve your issue with this. If so can you please tell me how it was corrected.
     
  5. Steve0

    Steve0 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    NJ
    This is Production Printing 101. That error message sounds like you are just using tray calls on the Fiery (which is bad practice); and the paper type "color specific" and the weight "81-105 gsm" are the Fiery defaults, which you haven't changed in the job properties (which is good practice).

    Paper is defined by three parameters: size, weight, and type. You must set up your paper tray(s) according to these parameters at the engine console. Size, the machine will get from the position of the guides (except for custom-size papers), so don't worry about that; however, you must punch in weight and type. Look on the ream label for the weight, expressed in gsm, and punch that in. Is the paper coated or uncoated? Is it made for digital? That too will be on the ream label. Examples: Hammermill 28# Color Copy is 105 gsm, paper type Color Specific. Ordinary office paper is 75 gsm, paper type Plain. Coated stocks, like Futura, Mohawk, Endurance, come in 80# text (118 gsm), 100# text (148 gsm), 80# cover (216 gsm), 100# cover (271 gsm), among other weights. You must select the weight range into which these numbers fall, for the paper you are using. The paper type for coated stocks is Coated-GL (for glossy) or Coated-ML (for matte, dull, or silk), among others. All of these settings are made at the engine console.

    When setting up the job in Fiery job properties, under the Media tab, you must make the same selections, so that the paper you request for the job matches up with the paper you have defined on the machine. Do not let them default, and do not bother selecting a tray number (always leave the tray setting on "Auto Select").

    Assuming the technician has installed the machine properly, when the paper parameters in your job settings match with those of the paper settings for the tray on the machine, the job will run without erroring out the way you saw it do.
     
  6. Keisha W

    Keisha W New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    macon, Georgia
    Okay thanks. I thought that would be the fix. I am assisting the users remotely and they seem to think differently. I will try this and see if they are able to print without any problems.
    Thanks for the explanation.
     

  7. Biggs

    Biggs Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Edison, NJ
    Another silly think to check is, when I print from InDesign, It defaults to 8.5x11S (Short side first).
    Makes sure you change it the regular 8.5x11.

    Also run by the previous people's posts. There's a lot of good info in there.
     
Loading...

Share This Page