OKI C942 Envelope Printer - Consumables end of life

Discussion in 'Other Digital Presses' started by jwheeler, Nov 1, 2019.

  1. jwheeler

    jwheeler Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2019
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    CA
    When the fuser reaches 150k impressions, it forces us to replace it. Since they are ~$500 each, we want to push past the 150k impressions until we are unhappy with the output quality. We are mostly just printing a small logo and return address in the upper left corner, so quality is not a huge issue. Has anyone had success over-riding this feature? Same question for other consumables like the drums.
     
  2. Biggs

    Biggs Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2017
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Edison, NJ
    That's unfortunate, the 900 model never forced a replacements. Maybe in the admin settings you can change a part life, or perhaps re-set the maintenance cycle?
     
  3. jwheeler

    jwheeler Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2019
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    CA
    That’s what I’m wanting to do, but I can’t find the setting within the admin login. I called the OKI service line but they said it couldn’t be changed. But I don’t feel like the guy really made much effort to look into it.
     
  4. FFR428

    FFR428 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2008
    Messages:
    421
    Location:
    CT
    I'll be watching this one. We have a new C931. Has had a few startup issues but think those are resolved. I know a pretty good tech guy. His shop has a few older OKI's. I'll see what he has to say and report back.
     
    jwheeler likes this.
  5. OkiTech

    OkiTech Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2008
    Messages:
    768
    Location:
    NEW JERSEY
    Guys, the reason why OKI service line left you with impression that they did not spend too much effort is the same reason why oil companies hiding all any tech that would allow us to drive vehicles without using gas/diesel. what did you expect? They do want you to buy that Fuser/Drum/Belt every so often. In any case, jokes aside, odds of you being able to reset counts via admin (even service) menu are very slim. I did not get a chance to dig deep in to C931 line but in previous generation ProColor 900/9xx you could not do that from any menu either. In ProColor 900DP series it is a tiny fuse that shortcircuits sertain pins on the connector, resets the count and burns/blows at the same time that theoretically could have been replaced, easy in Drums/Belt, not so easy in fuser but doable. Anyway, if you want to send me your old fuser, I can take it apart and see what method of resetting the count OKI had implemented in it, may be we can trick it, would be interesting.
     
  6. OkiTech

    OkiTech Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2008
    Messages:
    768
    Location:
    NEW JERSEY
    really? what is the full model of the 900 series that's never called for replacements?
     

  7. Biggs

    Biggs Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2017
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Edison, NJ
    It's been quite a few years, but i believe it was called the Okie Data 900 , or 900 Data perhaps..
    It did have other issues - particularly overtoning magenta in the winter, or low humidity environments..

    ...always magenta..

    ...always.
     
Loading...