Nobody will do my printing! (on non-white / non-house stock paper)

Discussion in 'Print Community General Printing Discussion' started by mt_harrison, Apr 15, 2011.

1. mt_harrison

mt_harrison New Member

HI,

I have a print job that I would imagine is straightforward. If I owned an A2 printer I could do it at home. I am an architecture student and want to print my entire portfolio (around 50 A2 sheet) onto a decent weight paper that basically isn't white.

Surprisingly, no single printer in the Greater Manchester area has the ability to do this. It's bizzarre. I think they're so aligned to economy and aren't interested in a student's job even though I will probably become a loyal customer to the place that finally helps me.

All I want is standard A2 inkjet prints, but onto colourplan 135gsm paper, I can even provide the stock myself.

Can anybody suggest a printshop that is capable of this?

Regards,

Matt.

P.s sorry for my frustration .

2. Michael4

Michael4 Senior Member

I had a similar issue with my graphics portfolio. I had to reduce the size.

Most printers would opt to due small runs digitally. Since there are no digital printers that can handle that size they would rather turn you down then charge you insane rate it would cost to set up the offset job. (ie Plates, Making color, wash-ups if needed)

You may want to go down to A3+ (13x19) and you should have no issue finding someone to run this digitally or on a small ABdick press/duplicator

3. mt_harrison

mt_harrison New Member

Hi Michael,

Thanks for your reply. Unfortunately scaling down the portfolio is not an option. A1 is the course requirement and I'm already bending the rules here by using A2. The problem is communicating construction details at scales like 1:10 and 1:20 takes up a lot of space!