Newbie looking for startup advice.

Discussion in '1-Color and 2-Color Offset Presses' started by Dcat127, Apr 30, 2010.

1. Dcat127

Dcat127 Member

I am new to the printing industry, trying to figure out where to get a start. I would like to purchase an offset press and equipment, hopefully a setup that could run process color (sometime in the future once I learn how to do simple jobs). At this point this is going to be a hobby/educational project. I have a budget of maybe $10k. Can I get the equipment I need for that price?

Are there any good books on operating offset presses?

2. marker

marker Member

a ryobi 3302 or itek/abdick equivalent, an hp laserjet 5000/5100 12x18 post script laser printer, a small paper cutter, and either adobe illustrator or corel draw depending on your design/typesetting skills ,requirements. you can run real good tight register poly plates off of the hp laser with postscript options and 120 line screen (works best) @1200 dpi. you`ll probably need more then 10k but can piece it together as you go. you can run 4 color on this press with 2 passes. books depend on what press you have and usually come with the press you buy. you should see if you can get a job somewhere, even work for free if they teach you a little and find out what all this entails.

3. Dcat127

Dcat127 Member

I already have Corel Draw so I would be set there.
    I have a Ricoh cl7000 laser printer, would that work, or is there something special about the hp 5000?

4. 4stateprinting

4stateprinting Member