New Job... Can't Cut It

Discussion in 'Print Community General Printing Discussion' started by CoralFang420, Mar 29, 2014.

1. CoralFang420

CoralFang420 New Member

Hi everyone,

I hate to be the newbie on the forum coming here with a problem that no one can fix. I'm hoping to vent because it's really bothering me. But I'm also hoping that maybe some other Prepress managers, Printshop Owners, etc might be able to help steer me right.

I've been working in Prepress for 13 years now. I've considered myself one of the best. I've actually had printshops outbid each other to see who gets to have me in Prepress because I became widely known for my Prepress skills in the area I was living in. Last summer, I moved my family a few hours away and looked for a new job.

I was ecstatic when I found a company that really seems like it takes care of its employees instead of being a slave driver (like a lot of my previous jobs). I really like this company, I really like my co-workers, I'm *SO* happy there.

The only downside is that it's worlds different from what I'm used to. I've always worked in offset printing; a lot of gangruns, but mostly specialty stuff (a lot of packaging; foil stamping, embossing, diecutting, etc). When I took this job, I thought it wouldn't be very different from what I was already doing.

I don't know if it's because I took 3 years off to try my luck at running my own design business, because this company strives for the highest quality, or because Flexographic Web presses are that different. But this is the first time in my life that I feel stupid. I feel like I'm not getting it. I feel like my boss hates me.

Usually, I only need a couple days of training at a new job, then I'm fine on my own. I've been at this place for 2 months and I still have so many questions to make sure I'm not going to mess anything up. I'm worried because my "trial/training period" is going to be up in 1 month and I'm afraid they won't let me stay.