Need info for being a Offset pressman

Discussion in 'Printing Business Practices' started by WayneODrano, Oct 9, 2009.

1. WayneODrano

WayneODrano Member

For one I didn't find a certain place on where to put this.
    I'm a Second Year Student in a Graphic Communications Class and our teacher is have us pick a speciality in the field and since I was an Offset Pressman last year I went with that as my speciality. But he wants us to do some type of interview (no mater how it's done whether email or in person) with someone that is working in you speciality field. So I have bunch of question to ask and please answer them truthfully. Thank you

What is the starting pay (please put in USA dollars)?
    Do you make more money after so much time?
    If so then how much (please put in USA dollars)?
    In how many years do you start to make that amount?
    What do you like and hate about you job?
    What kind of Education do you need (Recommended and Training wise)?
    Do you get sent to do any seminars or training?
    What kind of equipment and software do you use?
    What did you do when you first started out in your career area?
    Describe a typical day for you?

I would like to thank you all for you time and effort for answering my question. So THANK YOU VERY MUCH :D

2. RichardK

RichardK Senior Member

What is the starting pay (please put in USA dollars)?
    circa 25,000 $ but depends on the company and your age

Do you make more money after so much time?
    Yes if you're good enough to go up the ranks. Basically the more colours a press has the more $$

If so then how much (please put in USA dollars)?
    circa 50,000 $ for a good 4 col man but depends on the company

In how many years do you start to make that amount?
    5 - it actually takes longer to train a pressman to be totally proficient than it does a doctor in general practice

What do you like and hate about you job?
    Love...The problem solving (trust me there's a new one every day).