Mystery Digital Press... anyone know what this machine is?

Discussion in 'Other Digital Presses' started by Dev, May 7, 2013.

1. Dev

Dev New Member

Greetings everyone,

Let me start by letting you all know that I am a total noob (I've been learning as I go for just about one year but it's tough going when a couple hours on the internet makes me the regional expert - no one here, including the distributors of Canon, Xerox, Kyocera, Oce, Konica Minolta, and others have ever heard of an ICC profile).

I run a small print and publishing business and I am suffering from a protracted struggle to properly calibrate my Kyocera 4550ci (I admit I only sprung for the ColorMunki and not the Isis or something better so that could be a large part of my problem). I was finally told, by the local Kyocera dealer, that Kyocera's color performance just isn't that good. I'm starting to believe them. Honestly the performance shouldn't be as bad as it is, it shouldn't be as difficult as it has been to get adequate color accuracy, and I'm on the verge of giving up.

But I digress...

The real point of this post is to help me discover the make and model (does that apply to digital press lingo as well?) of a MYSTERY DIGITAL PRESS, the proverbial "white whale" of these parts.
    There is a competing business that has a machine whose output is consistently superb (colors are accurate, gradients are smooth, photos look like photos, etc...).
    Everyone agrees that the quality of their work is the best around, and everyone also agrees it is because of the machine they are using. I think they may actually have a calibrated workflow but again, I digress.