Mechanical Ghosting on Heidelberg KORA? Need help.

Discussion in 'Heidelberg Printing Presses' started by geraldko, Jan 5, 2016.

1. geraldko

geraldko Member

I've been brought in as a manager at a print shop. My background is in QA but I'm new to print. Our Heidelberg KORA is having problems with solid reverse prints and from what I've read it seems to be an issue of mechanical ghosting? This problem has existed for a while with that machine and no one in the shop knows how to avoid it. A photo of one of the prints is attached.

Thanks for helping!

Attached Files:

2. junker1984

junker1984 Senior Member

Suggest you start with the basics. Roller settings and replacement if needed.

3. geraldko

geraldko Member

Thanks for the reply! I don't mind learning all the basics, but I'm not sure where! We don't have print schools here in the Philippines, and lots of sketchy info on the net.

4. junker1984

junker1984 Senior Member

Start with the instructions in the operation manual. If you don't have one, you really must get one. How long has it been since roller diameters, durometers and settings have been gone through?

5. alibryan

alibryan Senior Member

As mentioned roller condition and settings are critical, but this press should be able to handle the image posted. I believe there's also a couple of rollers below in the ink train that engage/disengage with lever(s) to change the direction of ink traveling through the ink train. I can't remember if the KORA had these or not for sure, but I know the KORD did.

As long as this doesn't get die cut, another option to possibly help with the image quality is to change the imposition. By flipping one of the rows, it might eliminate some of the ghosting.

6. geraldko

geraldko Member

After scouring the internet I managed to find an operator's manual for the KORD but not for the KORA. I hope it's sufficiently close.