MBM/Triumph Ideal 4850 - safety circuit problem

Discussion in 'Cutters and Trimmers' started by Ryan Johnson, Jun 8, 2024.

  1. Ryan Johnson

    Ryan Johnson New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2022
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Something is not functioning in the safety circuit of my 4850. The sensor switches are functioning (mechanically, at least) and I don't see any unseated wires from them or on the PCB. When I close the cover, I don't hear that final 'click' sound that seems to mean the cutter is able to operate. And so, when I press the cutting buttons, nothing happens. I'm wondering if a fuse or circuit part needs to be replaced, but I have no idea where to start. Please advise ~~
     
  2. CHOCK

    CHOCK Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2016
    Messages:
    2,927
    Location:
    Managua,Nicaragua
    Hi sir:

    Please Reset the Circuit breakers: f1+F2+F3, and test FUSE : F4+F5.
    Let me know.
     
  3. Ryan Johnson

    Ryan Johnson New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2022
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Hi Chock, thank you —

    can you instruct me on how to reset the circuit breakers and test the fuse?

    Take good care,

    R
     
  4. CHOCK

    CHOCK Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2016
    Messages:
    2,927
    Location:
    Managua,Nicaragua
    Hi Sir;

    Reset the circuit breaker, is simple only, use your fingers, and put where they say ON, AND READY !!

    2) Test Fuse, you must use the Digital Multimeter, or Analog, in Continuity, must read 0 Ohms., otherwise is defective.

     
  5. Ryan Johnson

    Ryan Johnson New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2022
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Austin, TX

    Hi Chock—

    I tested both fuses F4 and F5 are they are working

    I'm not certain about the circuit breakers—on my machine (from 1996), F1 and F2 are the safety buttons (A and B) that are pressed from the bottom of the machine—is this the 'on' and 'ready' you are referring to? If so, I have reset them (though they did not seem to be tripped), as well as re-seated the wire connections. (Also, my machine does not have F3).

    Still, the cutter is not activating the blade.

    I am thinking that maybe one of the sensor switches that are pushed by the cover have gone bad ? Do you know if this is possible to check with a multimeter, or if there are any other places in the machine to use this tool to check?

    Thank you so much ~~
     

  6. CHOCK

    CHOCK Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2016
    Messages:
    2,927
    Location:
    Managua,Nicaragua
    , will not sensor, his machine, dies have, is old tech.
    Test the limit switch, around the machine, since I do know, if you the skill x read his schematic.
    When some contactors Will be On , and OFF.

    Let me know, sincerely
    Blessings
     
Loading...