Mailing Tabs and Fuser Fluid

Discussion in 'Xerox iGen3, iGen4, & iGen5 Digital Presses' started by gregulator, Oct 14, 2010.

1. gregulator

gregulator Member

Hi - I'm new to this forum and this is my first post. I discovered this forum yesterday and there is a lot of great knowledge and information on here. I have been a certified iGen3 operator for over 5 years now.

I have a lot of questions and some issues that I would like to address. To keep it simple I will start with 1 of the ongoing issues that we have been having since day 1.

We are a mailing company that are required to put mailing tabs on some of the printed pieces that come off of the iGen. We learned quickly that the tabs would not stick to the mail piece because of the fuser fluid. Our only solution is to let the printed pieces set for several hours (sometimes a day or two). We have tried several different companies that provide tabs. Does anybody have a recommendation for a tab that will stick better to printed pieces? We use the 1in and 15/16in tabs.

Thanks

2. ddigen3

ddigen3 Senior Member

Hello Gregulator!

Welcome to the forum.
    To start, which fuser fluid are you using? One or Two?

3. gregulator

gregulator Member

Thanks for the quick reply.

We are using Type II

4. ddigen3

ddigen3 Senior Member

Is it on any certain stock, or all stocks?

5. gregulator

gregulator Member

We usually have the problem on all of our stocks.

We predominantly use Lynx 80# and 100# uncoated cover and Titan 80# and 100# gloss cover and text. These are our "house stocks".

6. ddigen3

ddigen3 Senior Member