Ideal 4850-95EP Intermittent Error

Discussion in 'Cutters and Trimmers' started by PH-Engineering, Jun 11, 2021.

  1. PH-Engineering

    PH-Engineering Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Royal Wootton Bassett
    Hello,

    My customer has an Ideal 4810-95EP Guillotine that shows the error message/code ERT04 on startup? They're able to bypass it by pressing "Stop", however I'd like to rectify the issue fully.

    Could somebody please advise on what this error means and a potential fix please?

    Many thanks in advance.

    Phil
     
  2. CHOCK

    CHOCK Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2016
    Messages:
    2,021
    Location:
    Managua,Nicaragua
    Hi sir;
    Please check the function and value of the potentiometer (see diagnostic routine).
    upload_2021-6-11_6-25-2.png
     
  3. PH-Engineering

    PH-Engineering Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Royal Wootton Bassett
    Hi Chock,

    My customer is receiving the same message on their Ideal 4850-95 EP guillotine again, however this time the ERT04 error code is flashing on screen and they cannot bypass it.

    I attempted the above suggestion you gave, however the machine showed 888888 on the keypad instead? I pressed button 9 to cycle through the different options, but I wasn't able to make any adjusgtments to the figures. I saw on screen?

    The manual gauge switch that you turn to move the backgauge forward or back is also not working anymore, could this be the cause of ERT04?

    Many thanks,

    Phil
     
  4. CHOCK

    CHOCK Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2016
    Messages:
    2,021
    Location:
    Managua,Nicaragua
    Hi sir;
    Please see this;
    Please check the function and value of the potentiometer (see diagnostic routine).

    upload_2021-7-16_11-0-20.png

    Good luck.
     
  5. PH-Engineering

    PH-Engineering Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Royal Wootton Bassett
    Hi Chock,

    Unfortunately I do not get these options upon entering the diagnostics. Instead I see values for CR, AD etc.

    I have spoken to Ideal who recommend changing the potentiometer - Do you have a worksheet/manual on setting up a new potentiometer at all please?

    Many thanks,

    Phil
     
  6. PH-Engineering

    PH-Engineering Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Royal Wootton Bassett
    Just a quick update for anyone else having this issue - I changed the potentiometer, which was very easy to do, and then calibrated it using the advice provided by Chock. All is now working well, with no sign of the ERT-04 issue.

    If you have issues with the ERT-04 error message, my advice is to grease the backguage first (whole mechanism that the backfence moves on) to first see if that resolves the issue, otherwise I'd turn your attention to the potentiometer (This is the part attached to the centre button/switch - it's located under the front resting plate). Maybe it needs recalibrating or replacing.

    It's a simple fix, but happy to help anyone that requires assitance.

    Thanks to Chock for his help.

    All the best.
     

  7. CHOCK

    CHOCK Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2016
    Messages:
    2,021
    Location:
    Managua,Nicaragua
    You're welcome Phil.

    Blessing
     
Loading...