HP Designjet 450c and printing costs

Discussion in 'Large Format Inkjet Printers' started by leanham, Jun 13, 2009.

1. leanham

leanham New Member

Hello all,
    I am an artist from Durham England and have been painting for a number of years. I am now looking to explore the possibilities of transfering my images onto canvas via a printer.

My knowledge on printers is pretty limited, hence me coming her for a little advice. I have earmarked a few large scale printers on ebay (hp deignjet 450c and 1050c and also the encajet-750) prices are varying between £500-1500. Are these machines capable of producing high quality prints onto canvas?
    Also, are these printers expensive to maintain and operate? Does anybody have any ideas on how much ink they use and how often they need to be changed over. My Image sizes will vary between 30x24 inches and 48x36 inches, how much ink would be required to print at this scale and at how much cost?

Any information is greatly received!

Thanks
    Liam!

2. Jeff

Jeff Senior Member

The designjet 450c will not produce what I'd call an acceptable art print nowadays. I had a 350c back in 1996 and still have a designjet 750c + that is still printing 10 years after I purchased it. I really like the construction of these old designjets - they keep going and going. But they were really designed as cad printers that just happened to be very capable for their era. The good things about this generation plotter are that the nozzles are on the ink cartridges, so buying refurbished or used you don't end up with worn out nozzles that cost a fortune to replace as with some other inkjets - and the ink was quite inexpensive by today's scale - probably $0.25 to $0.40 per square foot for heavy coverage if you shop for ink a bit (lots of remanufactured black cartridges and expired but still fine color cartridges.)