how much does a printer earn in North Usa?

Discussion in 'Print Community General Printing Discussion' started by Fritz, Jun 21, 2011.

1. Fritz

Fritz Member

Hi guys!

I'm moving to Pittsburgh in winter and plan on continuing working there as a printer. I worked as an offset printer in germany for 9 years. My questions are:

-how much does a printer earn on average in North America?
    -Is it true that the shifts as a printer in America is often 12 hours long?

Thanks for your help,

Fritz :)

2. HPC

HPC Senior Member

Depends on what kind of offset printing you are experienced with, my immediate answer would be... not enough.

As far as shifts go, we do what we gotta do, all depends on the shop. Some shops are 4 shifts 7 days, 3 shifts 5... etc.

3. Fritz

Fritz Member

So you basically say printers don't earn well compared to other jobs? Or do you mean printers don't earn enough like most other jobs don't as well?

4. HPC

HPC Senior Member

My bad, I was being a bit sarcastic there, bad day. It all depends on what type of printing you will be doing.

5. Fritz

Fritz Member

Well that's okay. ;)

I'm an offset printer, mainly sheetfed, printing magazines and stuff. In Germany there is no huge different between the different printers, so what is well paied and what is not that well paid in america? Do you get a lot of money by working shifts?

6. ziggy33

ziggy33 Senior Member

You'll earn more pay if you have your journeymen in printing otherwise you can guess that you won't be making anything close to the $20/hour mark. If the shop your looking into has shifts then you will get a shift premium for working the late shift its like a $1 more an hour maybe more depending on the employer. Most printers here do it cuz they love printing they aren't concerned about the dollar amount

7. Fritz

Fritz Member