Hi all quick question?

Discussion in '1-Color and 2-Color Offset Presses' started by Reel fed Ronnie, Feb 28, 2013.

1. Reel fed Ronnie

Reel fed Ronnie Member

Hi guys,
    im new to the print game,in fact ive only been printing a couple of months ive been trained to run a web 17 reel fed,ive been printing about 5,000 shts an hour on average which is more than my workmate seems to be doing,how many an hour should i be aiming for,because my work mate has been painting for years now and it seems slow to me.also what type of paint do u use use on your reel fed presses,my paint seems a bit runny,and leaks from my duct overnight?

2. NotAGooner

NotAGooner Senior Member

5000 sph is slow even for sheetfed, you must be crawling and I suggest you use ink not paint ;-)

3. Reel fed Ronnie

Reel fed Ronnie Member

Hi Notagooner,
    thanks for the reply,well cant believe i should be quicker,think im being stitched up by workmate to be honest.you reckon more speed,i was running quick today but had a reverse on,so turner bar was slowing me down.We all call it paint at work,dont know why.buzzin for tommorow im doing my first four colour makeready,cant wait for 6 a.m.whatt press do you run pal.this ones a web17 seen better days it was found at the bottom of a mineshaft in prague,and was reconditioned,shes a little belter though.

4. NotAGooner

NotAGooner Senior Member

My last press was a 6 color 40" Heidelberg SM102, good luck with your 4 color makeready tomorrow.

5. jaed

jaed Member

Personally I would run as fast as you're comfortable while still maintaining your quality. Generally I shoot for 80% of max press speed as an average, but like I said some jobs just won't run that fast with out causing problems.
    Have fun with the four color work.

6. FSA

FSA Senior Member

Reel fed Ronnie