Heidelberg Quickmaster DI46-4 Fault 15-01

Discussion in 'DI Presses' started by superstardeejay, May 19, 2010.

1. superstardeejay

superstardeejay Member

Hello, we have fault code 15-01 on this QM. The fault first appeared during inching & cleaning , the main motor won't kick in, this is a permanent fault.

Inside the electrical cabinet, the brake relay on the TTK board (motor control gate drive and power supply) is constantly going click-clock click-clock every second or so, it does this from power-on until it's turned off.

Looking at the fault-finding block diagram in the manual, this brake relay should pull in to release the brake and then only drop out again once the brake needs applying at stop. The brake also incorporates a kick and hold circuit provided after the relay and by a mosfet.

Does anyone know where the problem may lie? I've tested the main motor IGBT's etc and all appears ok (I used to be an inverter engineer) and the DC bus is ok.
    That's where my knowledge of these presses stops!

Thanks, Kevin

2. Paul Cavanaugh

Paul Cavanaugh Senior Member

There can be a few things going on that cause this problem. One of them has to do with the safety circuit and the SVK board (Board with all of the red and yellow connectors with blue wires.). There are 3 LED’s on the SVK 3, the first one will be lit if there is more than one guard open, briefly when loading plates, when no motor rotation is permitted and when an E-stop is on. The 2nd one lights up briefly during plate loading, when one guard is open and if inching mode is possible. Look and see if the first light is on if so there is a safety issue.

Another issue is the magnets on the 3 large doors over the catwalks. If these are not lined up properly and in close proximity to each other the press will not show an error code yet it will still not run. They have arrows on them which should be pointing to the left and right when mounted correctly.