Densities climbing/ color going haywire

Discussion in 'Komori Printing Presses' started by simon700, Feb 21, 2017.

1. simon700

simon700 Member

I've been running an L5-28 + coat (circa 2007 I think) for about 4 years. (former Harris, Heidelberg, MAN-Roland, Mitsu guy). When I first got to this shop, they were having all kinds of problems, as this was their first "big" press. (28" 'Big' ha-ha) Any way, we got all of the major problems sorted out, and life was good for a couple of years. This past month I've had all kinds of problems holding color. In the morning (press cold) I have to push a lot of ink. By mid day I am cutting ink and upping water. Always been, that's OK, but now when I am several hundred sheets into a run, the colors all climb (more so Cyan & Mag) and behave erratically. Nothing has been changed as far as my consumables (ink paper fount solution etc) Dumping fountain solution seemed to help a little. I can't think of anything that has changed. Chiller is working OK. Anyone have advice or clues?

2. aqazi81

aqazi81 Senior Member

Check your rollers condition, if they are glazed or you see calcium build up. Also check your copper rollers for any oxidization.

3. mantman

mantman Senior Member

You could try taking off rollers for a good scrub to take off any residues of wash/calcium and set them again, how long are the rollers on the press perhaps its time to change them

4. simon700

simon700 Member