colour management challenges

Discussion in 'Color Management' started by bmor, Feb 7, 2009.

1. bmor

bmor New Member

I work in the art dept of a screen printing and large format digital print shop. Over the past few years we have acquired a few new machines and 2 in particular are fast becoming our main work horses. These are the Oce Arizona 250 and 350 flatbed UV printers.

Cut to the chase: we are spending too much time getting the colour dialed just right. Back in the day when we only had Roland aqueous printers we did colour by eye on a job to job basis. This is no longer cutting it.

I am no expert but from everything I have read I presume these printers need to be calibrated with a photo spectrometer. As well my monitor should be calibrated as well. We have the "Eye One" spectrometer and software but have yet to implement it in our work flow.

As well as the 2 Oce's we have Roland Eco Sol roll fed printers (XJ740) and a Roland XJ1000 full on solvent machine. These Rolands do not seem to have the same issues as the Oce's but the Oce's are great once we finally get colour dialed because of their flat bed (media thickness, any substrate etc.).

Any advice from anyone who has been through this would greatly be appreciated. We are Mac based with Onyx PC based rip stations on the Oce's.

2. Guru

Guru Member

Excellent to see some real workflows in the screenprint cross large format alot of companies don't give a crap.

Any machine should be calibrated regularly as alot of factors change the characteristics of the output device. ie climate, age, ink inconstancy.
    The Eye one is a nice affordable spectrophotometer a must buy if you dont have one. Onyx will allow you to calibrate the device to each stock I do recommend doing this (you need to calibrate each stock for the white point).