Colour laser printer - toner costs

Discussion in '8 ½ x 11 Color Laser Printers' started by Johnny, May 31, 2011.

1. Johnny

Johnny New Member

I was looking to buy a colour laser printer, ideally wireless and small size. I need it mostly for mono prints of text documents, although I would like the option to colour print now and then (but would rather avoid having 2 printers). Can anyone recommend a good colour laser printer with low running costs? I was considering the Samsung CLP-325W Wireless Colour Laser Printer, but am not sure about the actual toner costs, as all the reviews concern "first impressions" on quality and easy of setup. Have anyone used this printer for a while so to comment on actual running costs? I have been using my Canon mono laser printer for almost 15 years and have always been very happy with it, but they do not provide drivers for W7 and have to let it go... So I am not an expert of colour laser, do they allow printing in mono mode without using ***any*** of the colour cartridges or when printing texts in black and white they will use a minimum of colour anyway? In terms of toner costs, are mono laser printers cheaper than colour ones even if you were to use them only for mono printing? Any help would much be appreciated!

2. xfactor printing

xfactor printing Senior Member

I'm not familiar with the samsung clp325w specifically, but every laser printer I've used to date has allowed a simple switch of either black and white or color in the print driver allowing you to force the whole document to print with black toner only (no matter if the file has color in it.)