Colorbar Komori Lithone 90 with Spot Color

Discussion in 'Komori Printing Presses' started by Andreia Duarte, Mar 1, 2023.

  1. Andreia Duarte

    Andreia Duarte New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2023
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Portugal
    i work with a 4 color komori lithrone 29 and varnish.

    I have a problem with the bars, when the job is in 4 colors, I use the cmyk bar with no problem, everything goes well.
    But i needed help of someone who works with the machine and/or knows which bar I would have to use being a 4 body machine if I have a job with CMYK+1S or CMYK+2S or just printing with pantones.
    I have been using bars with CMYK+1S and +2S and +4S, but CIP3 gives an error and does not read, because the Patches are not in the same order as the body where the printer placed the pantone.
    I'm using XMF and the bars are already programmed.
    Am i using the wrong colorbar? Do I have to do any more XMF operations to get to the correct body? Does the operator have to do anything at KOMORI?
    send bars attached
    Please help :(:(:(:(:(:(
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Grant B

    Grant B Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    Toronto
    Is your CIP3 a sheet scanner?
     
  3. Andreia Duarte

    Andreia Duarte New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2023
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Portugal
    yes, it passes and reads the bars adjusting the ink automatically.
     
  4. Grant B

    Grant B Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    Toronto
    My scanner is a different model, but we have access to the colour bar settings, mine says 'Job Setting'. I select that and from there I can access the colour bar locations.

    I'm guessing you have your job scans sent from prepress. During my set up I have to input the colours in my scanner page.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Grant B

    Grant B Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    Toronto
    Also, your prepress department has to designate special colours to the colour bar.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Tsvetan Tsaryanski

    Tsvetan Tsaryanski Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2021
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    The operator chooses how color to how unit. In the first photo, tells the software which color of which unit is printed. In the second and third photo the colorbars is arranged.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Andreia Duarte

    Andreia Duarte New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2023
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Portugal
    I tried to use that bar that shows, but the printer says that as our machine is 4 colors this bar does not work because the paths are not located in the correct body. In other words, it says that it can only use the normal cmyk bar and that I would always have to change this bar to pantone, replacing the cmyk colors according to the body where it would be printed.
    In my head it doesn't make sense because I would have to create a lot of bars according to the jobs that come up.

    From what I understand, the bar has to be edited in Komori right?
    thank you for your help
     
  8. Tsvetan Tsaryanski

    Tsvetan Tsaryanski Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2021
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    It is not necessary to use only 4 colorbars because the machine is 4 colors. I have printed up to 7 colors on two runs and the color bars is for 7 colors. Example CMYK + 3 Pantone, the bar is S35MS729 (for my machine). We have 7 control fields, on the first run I use 4 for cmyk and on the second the remaining 3 for pantone.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Tsvetan Tsaryanski

    Tsvetan Tsaryanski Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2021
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Few examples.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      563.9 KB
      Views:
      103
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      574.6 KB
      Views:
      105
    • 3 copy.jpg
      3 copy.jpg
      File size:
      573.8 KB
      Views:
      98
    Grant B likes this.

  10. Grant B

    Grant B Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    Toronto
    I think you need to work with your plate making department. Do they designate a PMS colour with an M1, M2?
     
Loading...