Canon IPF W8400 for outdoor?

Discussion in 'Large Format Inkjet Printers' started by Nizam, Oct 17, 2012.

1. Nizam

Nizam New Member

Hi guys, I'm still new in printing business so I need a you guys opinion.I'm doing an advertising printing like banner,bunting,small,and backdrops.So I plan to buy Canon IPF W8400 for outdoor printing purposes.Did you guys think thats a good idea or not? can Canon W8400 print into outdoor media? if can how long it will be lasting? really need your advise.thank you.

2. Relever

Relever Member

Hi, canon x400 is rather Indoor solution, but if you are smart/clever you will find a way to print hi-end outdoor. Till now i was printing on paper , vinyl , baner , blockout and many other media. Any of those you can laminate and put outdoor. You must decide how long it will stay out and choose solution. Pigment Can do amazing things you will see.

PS. Think about self adhering media. Quality of pigment/dye machine is the best on market LFP and recurrent this is you weapon. Besides those machine is relative cheep when you buy and simple witch maintenance but this is mine opinion.

3. plotter

plotter Senior Member

you need a solvent printer for banners ect for outside. the canons use pigment ink which as soon as it rains its gone unless laminated, and even if laminated the colours will fade within a week. trust me been there done it.. get a roland solvent printer

4. Relever

Relever Member

Please, stop jokein. If you want to i will send you raport video from UV acitivity in pigmnet.Yes you have right about roland but roland cost few thousend more then Canon.

Pigment ( not DYE ) is very strong with UV and water, you can't wash them at all with water! you have right its not acid like in solvent but its durable and extreme good quality without RIP.

5. OkiTech

OkiTech Senior Member