Buying Epson New 9800 Printer but Old Ink. Good deal or NO?

Discussion in 'Large Format Inkjet Printers' started by martapag, Apr 1, 2013.

1. martapag

martapag New Member

Hello folks this is my very first time here and could use your advice. A boyfriend of one of my friends, here in the east coast, is selling a NEVER used 9800 for $2,000. He bought it when it came out 5 or 6 yrs ago for his business, small printing shop, but never got to use the printer for one reason or another. I saw the printer and is NEW and the ink was never installed and is in all its unopened package. I will use it to print MOSTLY large black and white fine art prints and some color too. I checked Epson site and it says that the life spam of an unused ink is 2 years and 6 months after opening. WIll that ink still be ok? Otherwise that means that I would have to buy new ink and with taxes and all it will be close to 1K. Then now the printer is costing me 3K.
    I offered him $1,500 and mentioned that the ink is old but he still wants the 2K .
    Part of me is saying, "this is a new printer" and the other part is saying, "WOW must buy new ink too." I told that to my friend but he is saying that he thinks the ink should be ok. Or at least I could use it for experimenting. I dont want to experiment with bad ink then had that old ink clogged the printer. Or have to spend 1/3 of new ink later cleaning all the heads and nozzles. Any thoughts? TIA Marta

2. IT Supplies

IT Supplies Senior Member

The printer may be a good unit (for being a discontinued model), but it may be better to go with a newer model. Really depends if you want to spend the money and if something happens to it down the road that the cost can be as much as you spent. Or, it may work for you for a few years without any issues. The ink will not be bad even past the expiration. The difference in quality would be around .0000001% and Epson's printers will use expired inks.