banner material

Discussion in 'Large Format Inkjet Printers' started by chris___, Jan 4, 2010.

1. chris___

chris___ New Member

Hello,

I have a Canon IPF6000s. I am interested in making indoor/outdoor banners with vinyl or nylon. Unfortunately I have no experience with this. What would be a good media for acomplishing this with this printer?

Thanks in advance!
    Chris

2. ddhunter

ddhunter New Member

13 oz. Vinyl is the most versatile and cost effective material for outdoor prints. There are different thickness' and coatings available so do your homework. Some are for only printing on 1 side while others can be printed on both sides.

Dennis

3. plotter

plotter Senior Member

correct me if im wrong but, for banner use outside, you need to use solvent inks, and the canons run pigment or dye based. I have a canon and would not use it for anything that goes outside.

4. alfredjr18

alfredjr18 Member

You need to know about Vinyl sign making

Vinyl sign making is one of the most effective yet low cost modes of advertisement. When you drive down the road and see those huge banners endorsing one product or the other, be aware that most of them are vinyl banners. In this age of modern technology, vinyl sign making is done digitally where advertisement banners are now printed using large format inkjet printers. These printers can print a full billboard on a single piece of PVC material.

PVC is the most widely used substrate for vinyl sign making. PVC offers different options to the printers – they may be single or double sided and their weights range from 9 ounces per square yard to 22 ounces per square yard. The huge banners that cover an entire side of a building are also made using meshed PVC base so that wind can pass through them and they don’t get torn.