Start Up Expenses for starting a Digital Print Business?

Discussion in '4-Color Offset Presses +' started by DaveGraphx1, Nov 9, 2011.

1. DaveGraphx1

DaveGraphx1 New Member

Hello, an associate and I are working on a Start-Up Expense business plan for starting a short run digital print business. I am a designer and have had very abundant requests for short run digital print orders over the last couple of years but have had to refer all of my designs to 3rd parties.

I would plan on leasing a space,
    How much square footage OR what type of space would be necessary to acomodate a digital printer (i.e. Heidelberg Quickmaster or similar).
    (garage, warehouse, office space?)

What would be the average annual utility for running the machine?

How much should I expect to spend for a digital printer such as a Heidelberg QuickMaster QMDI 46 or equivalent? Feel free to give me some advice on printer options :D

Also how much would it cost to run a machine similar to the QMDI 46-4 per month/annually? (Example: materials, inks, parts, labor, insurance)

Are there any type of city permits/fees that are associated with starting this type of business?

If I hire a Press Technician to operate how much would be his/her average annual compensation be?

Sorry for all the questions Im really a newbie but I am genuinely passionate about starting this business.

ANY help or advice you can offer will be appreciated! Thanks! :eek:

2. tom978

tom978 Member

I think a better solution would be to find a trade printer, if you have lots of work I'm sure that they would provide you with a very nice price and despatch goods with your paperwork etc.

I would of thought you would be able to get a 20% discount from the printers then add the 20%, and submit to your customer that way the price should be ok you don't have to worry about making the stuff and all the costs that go with running a production facility.

This is definitely something I could sort out for you if your based in the UK.