Wanted: QMDI Veterans Sharing Tips

Discussion in 'DI Presses' started by impressed, Jul 23, 2011.

1. impressed

impressed Member

I'm looking for any QMDI tips that you veteren di pressman can share with me. I'm fairly new to the whole print trade being 24 years and only starting in print 2 years ago, but I'm loving working at our little 4 employee shop where I get lots of variety. My boss, a great pressman - trained me on a 2 colour GTO and a wee little Multi.
    We got our QMDI Plus less than a year ago, and I got Heidelberg training (super great guys!) when the press was installed. I'm the only one who is trained, so I'd appreciate any help I can get from experienced operators.

Initally there were numerous issues with the press, which didn't all surface at the same time. It was refurbished and had sat for awhile. However, Heidelberg was awesome for fixing stuff while the press was still under warranty. Now for the most part it seems to be running quite well, but I'd like to know how to optimize its(and my) performance.

I've got a bunch of questions, some of which have been discussed elsewhere and on this forum, but if you could give me your experience on a couple of them that'd be fantastic. Some of these things I did get trained on, but as I saw by being trained by 2 Heidelberg guys, some things are a matter of opinion and preference.

1. Ink
    We're running the Heidelberg brand Saphira. Our experience is that without enough powder its set off is brutally glue-like. My boss says it's the stickiest ink set off he's seen.. We haven't tried any other inks yet but I'd like to.

2. Black Solids
    If it's a large straight black it tends to print weak, if it's rich black it comes out much better. Possibly an ink brand issue? (Our chiller runs around 22.4 deg)

3. Black Plate gets speckly/dirty on non image areas as the run goes on. It starts out clean and gets worse with the run. I'm not sure why the black does this but not the other 3 colours.